add image

History of NSF

The History of Squash in Nigeria

The history of squash in Nigeria cannot told be elaborated without the contributions of the Army and the police.

The military were the first to develop a structure for squash. They encouraged their personnel to take up the game. Little wonder the first crop of champions that did the country proud at international level are from the military.

The Nigeria Squash Federation NSF (formerly NSRA) was formed in 1974 to regulate all squash activities at national, state and club level in the country.

Since it's formation, the federation has been headed by chairmen/presidents. Among them are Commodore Omolulu, Kayode Roberts, late Arc. Galadima and Brig. Gen Toki, Alh. Adamu Erena and Mr Boye Oyerinde to mention a few.

Several tournaments like Elephant Cement, Navianco, Nem Insurance, Milo, British American Insurance, Niger open, Rex, Maxwell open, Glocose D, Vin Man open and several championships that produced champions like Mr Okalawon Martins, Ben Solomon, Teofeek Afolabi, Friday Omeben, Moses Olubo, Yinka Duro, Tunde Yahaya, Iliya Manga, Wasiu Sanni, Friday Odeh, Segun Ogunjimi, Bola Mogaji, Uche Uba, Jude Odeh, Jonah Attah, Sodik Taiwo, Jonathan Peters.

Recently, a new crop of players like Onaopemipo Adegoke, Gabriel Olufunmilayo, lanre Abdulrahaman, Idowu Enimakure and a host of others have started winning and making names for themselves.